Skip to content

Mudroom Progress

May 3, 2012

I was out for a week on a family vacation, but got back late last week and made some progress on the mudroom.

I mentioned in a previous post that I had laid the tile in the mudroom wrong, and ended up using too many of the 9×12 tiles, so I was two tiles short.  To their credit, The Tile Shop in Bedford, Ohio gave me the extra tile without charging me.  I had been concerned that they were going to make me buy a whole kit, which would have cost almost $100.  Tile in hand, I was able to finish the tiling and grouting this weekend.  We’re very happy with how it turned out. 
 Because our first floor has 11′ ceilings, I decided to build a separate storage area above the full-length closet.  We built the coat closet to normal height using bypass doors as shown below, and above the space we added a second “closet” with plywood bypass doors.  I think this will be great for storing out-of-season outerwear.
 
I still have to paint the plywood doors and door trim, and we are waiting for the replacement light to show up, but it’s really nice having a serviceable mudroom!
 
From → Interior Design

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

