Skip to content

In-Wall Speaker Grills

March 10, 2012

I ended up buying these speaker grills from Reliable Hardware, with the intent of installing them in my walls.  At $8 apiece, I figured it wasn’t too big of a risk.  Well, I was bummed out to find that they didn’t have a trim ring of any kind — meaning that as I had pre-installed the mounting rings before the drywall was hung, the cover didn’t have anything to conceal the rough cut of the drywall.  So, I picked up an 11″ square speaker grill from Legrand (sold at Lowes and Home Depot).  I’m not crazy about the look (I really was hoping that at least the surround speakers would be recessed in the walls) so I might try to rig something else.  I think something like a trim ring for a recessed light would work fine, but unfortunately the ones I have are for 6″ lights (the grills I have are 6.5″).  So far I haven’t been anything that looks right from Google or Amazon.

Any suggestions?

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

