Skip to content

Basement Finish: High-Level Floor Plan

January 4, 2012

Well, I expect to start framing next week, the general floor plan is below.  After some back and forth (and talking to the county) I decided not to insulate my exterior walls.  From what I understand I won’t get a lot of energy/heat benefit by insulating, but adding insulation could create a moisture problem (which I don’t currently have) by trapping moisture between the cinderblock and the insulation.  So instead, I’m going to keep the framing an inch off the exterior walls, and cut in a few vent covers to facilitate air circulation.

My wife and I have decided to insulate and drywall the ceiling, though, to help prevent noise.  My brother-in-law (who just finished his basement) strongly encouraged me to use 3/4″ drywall on the ceiling to further help prevent noise, so I’ll probably do that as well.

Looking forward to getting started!

From → Interior Design

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

