Skip to content

Navien NR-240A: Day 6 Results

December 14, 2011

No problems detected.   I still haven’t had a chance to note how often the heater has to run to keep the circulation tank at temperature, but I do hope to get to that this coming weekend.

As an aside, my wife does think the Navien makes the water taste “different”.  Keep in mind that she has been out with the flu the last couple of days so her tastebuds probably aren’t working normally.  For what it’s worth, I did notice a different smell to the water when taking a shower (different, not bad — in fact I’d say the water smells cleaner to me).  I never consume hot water from the tap, and there’s no reason for the Navien (that I can think of) to have any impact on cold water, so I can’t comment.

Also, I did speak to a plumber on Monday and confirmed a suspicion I had.  Since the Navien was installed in existing construction, I didn’t see a lot of value in adding a return hot water line — it would have had to stay in my basement and would have added 20′ or less.  He agreed that doing so, which the original installer recommended, wouldn’t have a significant impact on the “cold water sandwich” situation, but would give me hot water a bit quicker than I get it today (which is pretty instantaneous).  So if you’re thinking about getting one of these installed, I definitely recommend the circulation tank/pump, but would think twice about having a return leg installed.  The downside, by the way, to the return leg is that your cold water won’t be as cold.  As someone that drinks a lot of cold water, I’d personally prefer to wait five seconds for hot water and have cold water when I want it, than have hot water in one-two seconds and have lukewarm “cold” water.

From → HVAC

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

